Just got a threatening letter from the International Center of Blog Monitors saying that Just Some Guy was the only blog on the Internet not to mention Tim Tebow today and that failure to do so before the start of tonight's game would result in the instant revocation of my blogger's license. So: Tim Tebow.

I have no problem with God. I don't even mind when athletes recognize God in gratitude for their opportunities and abilities. But when Punch and Judy hitters start thanking God after every four-bounce single up the middle, that's where I draw the line. Blessed are the meek, yes, but God is a doubles hitter. Spray hitter, power to all fields. An 80-yard touchdown play in overtime? That's God's work. But that 3-yard run off tackle in the first quarter? No. God is a big-play guy. God is the Buckner play. I think that's what this "SNL" skit was trying to say.

Phil Theobald, another of my great mentors, used to ask God-praising athletes: So why did God hate the other team so much?

I love the Tebow story, the miraculousness of it, the polarization, the phenomenon. It's the kind of story that makes sports great. I love the Tebowing Internet meme. I love Jimmy Fallon's Te-Bowie. But most of all, I love any reason to dig up the following clip from "Hoosiers," one of my favorite movies: "God wants you on the floor."

Here are two nice reads on Tebow: Dan Barry in The Times and Rick Reilly on SI.com.





Leave a Reply.